One vs Fifty: Supporting Your Friends

Support your friends in whatever they do, whatever they enjoy, whatever they are passionate about. I could not reiterate this enough. For me, my friends have done so much to be by my side throughout my life that it’s only fitting that I do the same for them. Today, I share my one of my most memorable college experiences.

At Princeton,  a couple of my roommates played on the club ice hockey team and not on the varsity team. Unfortunately, club sports didn’t really receive any attention, and club hockey games garnered only a few home fans, at most, all season. But as I quickly got to know them better, I realized how passionate they were for ice hockey. Sure, they only played on the club level. But, much like myself and tennis, they had grown up playing hockey all the time. They were diehard NHL fans. They lived and breathed hockey as much as I lived and breathed tennis. Tennis was my passion, hockey was their passion. Not to mention, they had supported my college tennis career more than a friend could ask for. So, when their season began sophomore year, I attended my first ever hockey game.

My Princeton club hockey boys have a special place in my heart.

My Princeton club hockey boys have a special place in my heart.

The rest is history. Even though I was usually one of only a few home fans, sometimes the only one, in a mostly empty rink, I made it a priority to go to every home game I could, The thing is, I realized I couldn’t stop going. I immediately loved hockey, being in the rink, and cheering on my buds.  With time, I became good friends with everyone on the team, not just my two roommates. I would hang out with them when they had parties, get meals with them, and go out with them.

One vs Fifty: I became so inspired by their passion for the game that I was actually somewhat obsessed with going to each game. So obsessed, I decided to journey with them on a school bus to Pennsylvania for one of their road games. Call me crazy, I know! I was probably the first fan in PCH history to attend a road game. However, it ended up being one of the highlights of my Princeton career. I was the only Princeton fan there, while UPenn had 50+ rowdy and fratty fans rooting for their home team (UPenn only had a club team). Immediately, I found myself yelling at the top of my lungs at every scoring opportunity or big save. I even tried heckling the opposing goalie. Appropriately, the game went to a shootout, which we won in dramatic fashion. I felt like my Padres had just won the NL West. It was incredible. I remember every single moment of it. It was worth the trip and then some.

And just like that, I was a diehard Princeton Club Ice Hockey fan. So much that my own tennis teammates joked around with me for talking about my hockey friends so much and spamming the team text every time I went to the rink for a game. Heck, I even went to one of their practices one time. I loved supporting my friends that much. It was the least I could do for them. What I gained, in turn, is priceless.

I gained two loyal roommates. I gained a new band of brothers. I gained a new family. I gained a new passion for hockey. Most importantly, I gained the two best friends I could have asked for.

My club hockey friends became my best friends. Graduating together 2013.

My club hockey friends became my best friends. Graduating together 2013.

So make sure you support your friends in whatever they do. It doesn’t matter how good they are at it, but if they are passionate about it, then they deserve your support. That’s what friends do for each other.

Cheers.

Michael

 

